LEPC Membership

Title 37b—Requirements

The State Emergency Response Commission shall, by resolution, appoint the members of the local emergency planning committee of each emergency planning district. The committee shall consist of at least 14 members and, except as provided in subsection 2, shall include representatives from each of the following organizations or groups: elected state and local officials; law enforcement, emergency management agency, firefighting, first aid, health, local environmental, hospital and transportation personnel; broadcast and print media; citizens living near local facilities; employees working in local facilities; community groups; and owners and operators of facilities subject to the emergency planning requirement of this subchapter [1989, c. 464, §3 (new).]

Modification of committees. Members of the public may, by written petition, request the commission to modify the representation of those groups or organizations on a local emergency planning committee. If the commission reduces or eliminates representation of a group or organization on a committee, it shall declare the position of the member representing that group or organization to be abolished and the person whose position is so abolished shall cease to serve as a member of the committee on the effective date of the commission’s declaration. Appointments of members to the committee to fill positions established as a result of modification to the composition of the committee shall be made in the same manner as original appointments under this subchapter [1989, c. 464, §3 (new).]

Volunteer Members

By volunteering to work with your LEPC, you can play a major role in making your community a safer place for all.

The Hancock County LEPC records are located in the Hancock County Court House, located at:

Our hours are Monday thru Friday 8:30 a.m. until 3:30 p.m.