Hancock County Sheriff’s Office

On May 18, 2020, the Hancock County Sheriff’s Office resumed limited service of civil papers that we had in our possession prior to the Covid-19 shut down.  We will be doing more in the civil division taking into consideration safety of staff.

See letter from Sheriff Kane here.

If you have any questions, please feel free to call Maryann Allen at 667-1404 Ext. 226.

Sheriff’s Office

50 State Street, Suite 10
Ellsworth Maine 04605
(207) 667-7575



  • Scott Kane, (Serving since 2015)


  • Michelle Cote, Administrative Assistant
    (207) 667-1404, Ext. 227

Sheriff’s Department Patrol Services

  • Pat Kane, Chief Deputy

Civil Process Division

  • Paul E. McPhail, Supervisor
    (207)-667-1404 Ext 226

Hancock County Jail


  • Timothy Richardson, Jail Administrator Ext. 220
  • Frank L. Shepard, Asst. Jail Administrator Ext. 265
  • Matthew Saucier, Administrative Assistant Ext.223


Hancock County Sheriff
Ellsworth, Maine
More Information

Scott Kane was elected to serve in the position of Hancock County Sheriff January 1, 2015. The Sheriff holds an elected position and his term runs 1/1/2015-12/31/2022. He resides in Brooksville.


Chief Deputy
Ellsworth, Maine


Hancock County
Jail Administrator
Ellsworth, Maine

Learn More about Hancock County’s Sheriff’s Department

Follow us on Facebook