Purchase a Police Report

The Hancock County Sheriff’s Office utilizes a robust, computerized records system for all its criminal complaints, calls for service and jail bookings.

Criminal Complaints and Calls for Service

Generally, reports may be obtained by submitting a written request for a charge of $10.00 for the first page and 50 cents for each additional page. Reports that contain computer disks containing photos are $10.00 per disk and video DVDs are $25.00. Oral requests can be made by calling 207-667-7576 and asking for the records division. Written requests should be sent to the Sheriff’s Office records division at 50 State Street, Suite 10, Ellsworth, Maine 04605. Applications for a record can be presented in person from 7:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. on weekdays except holidays. Please allow three days from the date of the incident to allow time for data processing and report approval.

Maine “Right-to-know” laws make it possible for its citizens to have access to public records but in some cases, due to confidentiality and privacy laws, some information may be redacted from some reports. Also, if the report involves a matter presently being dealt with in the court system, a delay in obtaining the report may occur unless authorized by the prosecutor.